Special Instructions for (CDL) Commercial Class A, B, & C and Non-Commercial Class A & B (Recreational Vehicles (RV), Fire Apparatus and Farm Vehicles)
NOTE: Applicants are eligible to schedule a commercial driver’s license (CDL) skills test or a class A or B noncommercial skills test if they have held their CDL or Type II non GLS learner’s permit for a minimum of 14 days, and who’s Maryland driver’s license is not currently suspended, revoked, cancelled or disqualified. In addition to a valid license and permit, CDL applicants must also have a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate (DOT physical card) and a waiver/exemption if required.
If you have any issues while registering online for your driving skills test, please call 1-410-768-7000 or 1-800-492-4575 TTY for the Hearing Impaired for assistance in scheduling a skills test appointment. Please listen to the whole message to hear the prompt to press #7, then #2 to speak to a Customer Service Representative so you can schedule an appointment.
At the end of this appointment transaction process, you will receive a confirmation number that will assist you in verifying your appointment through our Manage Scheduled Appointments tab on the Appointment Scheduling System. You can use this confirmation number and your date of birth to confirm your appointment online or if you need to change or cancel your test appointment.
Commercial and Noncommercial skills test requirements
The following items must be presented at the time of your test appointment:
1. Valid Maryland Non Commercial or Commercial driver’s license as applicable.
2. Valid Maryland commercial or non-commercial Class A or B learner’s permit.
*Obtain a duplicate learner’s permit if original is lost, stolen, or mutilated for testing.
3. CDL applicants must provide a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate (DOT card) and medical waiver/exemption if applicable.
4. Glasses/contacts must be worn for the test, if so restricted.
5. Accompanying driver with their valid driver’s license: Must be 21 years of age or older and has held a valid Maryland or out-of-state CDL or noncommercial license of the same class or higher that the applicant is testing for, for a minimum of 3 years. CDL accompanying drivers must also present a valid DOT physical card with medical waiver/exemption, if applicable.
6. You must provide a valid registration card for the test vehicle including valid registration for any vehicle being towed by the test vehicle (i.e. the trailer on a class A CDL vehicle combination).
7. The vehicle(s) must be properly tagged with 1 or 2 tags as required by the issuing state.
8. Vehicles that are placarded for hazardous materials may not be used for testing.
9. If a rental vehicle is being used, the applicant’s name must appear on the rental contact as a driver.
10. All test vehicles must have a valid, legible VIN plate/fishplate (contains the vehicle manufacturers GVWR or GVCWR information and its vehicle identification number) that is attached to the vehicle. This includes any vehicle trailer that is towed by the test vehicle.
11. The commercial/non-commercial test vehicle(s) must be in safe operating condition for the test.
12. The test vehicle(s) must be of the same or lower class/ type as the commercial/ non-commercial learner’s permit held by the applicant. (i.e. Restricted A combination instead of a tractor trailer combination).
Note: Commercial/non-commercial class A & B Driver’s Skill Test Appointments actual start and end times may fluctuate due to unforeseen circumstances. Factors such as road conditions, volume of traffic, and weather conditions, etc. may cause your appointment to start or end later than expected. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your patience.
Fees: There is a $20 retest fee that you must pay prior to scheduling another skills test if you fail any part of the skills tests and wish to be retested. There is a $20 no show fee that you must pay prior to scheduling another driving test if you:
· Do not appear for a scheduled test without an acceptable explanation;or
· Do not appear for a scheduled test within 15 minutes after the scheduled appointment time, with an acceptable test vehicle and accompanying driver.
Note: there is no re-test fee if a non-commercial class A or B applicant fails any part of the vehicle skills test; however, you must use the central scheduling system to schedule your next skills test appointment.
Helpful Resource Links: